My Deloitte Journey Begins…

In 2017, I graduate with a bachelors degree in business and commerce from Western Sydney University and begin a new journey as a graduate in one of the big four accounting firms in the world – Deloitte. I am both excited and humbled by this opportunity and will endeavour to bring forth the same energy and enthusiasm towards this role as I have done in each of my roles in the past. In addition, I will continue mentoring and coaching junior tennis players and hope that I can continue to connect with professionals who can inspire and support both my students and myself to become all we can be! – Originally posted on 20 January 2017

I began my role as a graduate at the accounting firm in March 2017. I can recall being so excited about this opportunity ever since I was accepted into the program over 1 year ago! Has it really been that long? Wow

I feel as though it is only appropriate to reflect on this new chapter in my life, having been with the firm for three months, by commenting on what I believe are the challenges, positives and negatives of this role going forward into the future.

NEGATIVES

  • The inability to predict my workload
  • Not being my own boss

CHALLENGES

  • Getting at least 7 hours of sleep per day
  • Ensuring that I can continue to mentor and coach junior tennis players and adults throughout the week
  • Being social (since I am an introvert, naturally)

POSITIVES

  • The ability to work amongst likeminded individuals
  • Making an impact that matters
  • Learning new skills on a daily basis

It’s quite clear to see, just from my quick reflection on my experience at Deloitte thus far, that there is no perfect role, situation or environment. That goes for both your work and personal life. We will always face challenges and have experiences that are both positive and negative.

In my opinion, the way to keep winning at life is to learn from the negatives, embrace the positives and face the challenges. There really is nowhere to hide from them because they are the recurring themes in everything we do. I will keep you all posted 🙂

image

