Mental Toughness – By Definition

I feel compelled to share an article I wrote over one ago where I expressed my thoughts on mental toughness. I feel as though there is so much negativity in the world where not matter how hard you try to remain positive, it becomes difficult to do without having a structured way of thinking.

In my opinion, the way we physically work out to build endurance and stamina or play sport to strengthen our muscle memory, is the way you approach building your mental toughness. Daily affirmations, reading material written by the experts, watching inspirational movies, videos, speeches, attending seminars or conferences about improving the way you approach every part of life is what gives you mental toughness. Stay focused, keep learning, remain open-minded and you will find being mentally tough becomes a habit in no time 🙂

It's Game On!

I have been guilty of using the internet to find definitions and meanings of words and concepts. I’ve even heard university lecturers tell students that it’s okay to just ‘Google it’ to find an answer. How valid are these definitions?

Let’s take for example the phrase ‘mental toughness’. My definition would be something along the lines of ‘the measurement of how your brain performs at moments where you are faced with extreme pressure’.

Let’s see how I compare with definitions I find online:

Mental toughness is a collection of attributes that allow a person to persevere through difficult circumstances (such as difficult training or difficult competitive situations in games) and emerge without losing confidence.

Source: Google

For-ti-tude:
1 :strength of mind that enables a person to encounter danger or bear pain or adversity with courage
2 obsolete :strength

Source: Merriam-Webster

Mental toughness is the ability to remain calm under stress…

View original post 275 more words

